What You Need to Know to Permanently How to Delete Your Reddit Account
Reddit doesn’t allow its users to temporarily disable their accounts. Once you delete your Reddit account it is gone forever, along with all your favorite links. However, it still makes your comments visible, but the author of the comments will be displayed as deleted.
It’s also important to note that if you delete your account, your post history will remain. You will not be able to go back and delete your posts after deleting your account. Make sure to delete any posts you want to go away before deactivating, otherwise, they will remain on Reddit with the word “deleted” in place of your username…forever.
Tip: Reddit does not allow users to delete their accounts from the mobile app, but you can still use your phone to delete your account by following these steps in a mobile web browser.
How to Delete Reddit Account In Just 4 Steps
Step1: Login to Reddit.com
First, you’ll need to log in to your Reddit account with your username and password. Click “Log In” near the top right corner of your screen and enter your credentials.
Step 2: Go to “User Settings”
Click on the dropdown menu with your username on the right corner of the screen. Navigate to the “User Settings” and click on it.
Step 3: Click “Deactivate Account”
Once you’re on the user settings screen, click on “deactivate account” at the bottom of the page.
Warning: Deleting your Reddit account doesn’t delete your Reddit content, sadly. If you want your Reddit account to be removed, you’ll need to manually delete your posts, one by one, prior to deleting your account.
Step 4: Enter your information and click “Deactivate”
After you click “deactivate account”, you will be taken to a popup window that prompts you to fill in your credentials for one last time. This page further gives you the option to tell Reddit why you are deleting your account. You will also need to check the box acknowledging that you understand deactivating your account is an irreversible action. Once you fill in the information and click Deactivate, you are free of your old Reddit account.
Important Note: If you change your mind in the future, you will not be able to sign up to Reddit with the same username as before, nor will anyone else. Furthermore, there is currently no automated feature to download your Reddit data. You need to contact the company to request a download of your user data.
If you change your mind in the future, you will not be able to sign up to Reddit with the same username as before, nor will anyone else. Furthermore, there is currently no automated feature to download your Reddit data. You need to contact the company to request a download of your user data.